Balbriggan is a small manufacturing town with a good beach. The river Delvin, well stocked with trout, was said to be the christening site of St. Benignus, successor to St. Patrick. Fine sandy beaches stretch from here to Co. Meath.
Today the restored village of Blackrock is a thriving commercial shopping and leisure area. The restored main street in the village contains shops, pubs and restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets. Jack O Rourke, a traditional Irish pub , is well worth a visit. At one end of the main street are Logans Restaurant and the quaintly named Potters Bar. At the other end of the main street is Blackrock and Frascate Shopping Centres. At weekends, there is an open market located just off the main street.
Situated in the far south-west of Dublin County, on the road to Blessington Lakes, this village provides an excellent base from which to explore the forest walks and scenic views in the Dublin hills.
Once a walled town of the English Pale, Clondalkin is now a fast-growing ‘new town’. A Round Tower survives from a monastery founded in the seventh century as well as granite crosses in the Protestant churchyard and the small 16th century Tully’s Castle. Corkagh Demesne is an extensive public park consisting of woodland walks by the Camac River. There are excellent views of the Dublin and Wicklow mountains. The park also contains a children’s playground and picnic area. Nearby is the Camac Valley Tourist Caravan and Camping Park, with space for 113 touring caravans and 50 camping sites.which opened in May 1996.
The charming town of Dalkey with its medieval streetscape is attractively situated on the southern end of Dublin bay, only a half hour drive from the city centre. Dalkey Island, lying off the tip of the mainland, was first inhabited around 3500 BC by Stone Age settlers. Other neighbouring attractions include the James Joyce Museum, Shaw’s Cottage, Archibold’s Castle, Killiney hill and the Cill Inion Leinin church as well as the chance to do some celebrity spotting since Dalkey has become a most fashionable place to live. The unique 8th century church of Saint Begnets is situated on Castle Street, next door to the Goat Castle, which is home to the heritage centre – a marvellous place to begin your tour of Dalkey.
The north and south beaches at Donabate offer wonderful recreation and has scenic walks around the peninsula towards Portrane that add to the appeal of the place. Newbridge House is located near Donabate in north County Dublin.
The very heart of Dublin is O’ Connell St., its’ most celebrated street. Within its confines one can savour a taste of real Dublin. Areas such as Henry St., provide excellent shopping, with markets founded by real ‘ Dubs’. The GPO on O’ Connell St., marks the point where the Easter Rising of 1916 began.
The tourism centre of Dublin. This area of the city houses many of Dublins most famous landmarks, inlcuding City Hall, the Ha’penny Bridge and Dublin Castle. The Temple Bar area is Dublin’s Cultural Quarter in the heart of Ireland’s capital city. Located in one of the oldest areas, between Trinity College and Christchurch Cathedral, Temple Bar combines culture, commerce – and people. Theatres, artist studios, small galleries, hotels, restaurants, bars and shops fill the cobbled streets with colour and atmosphere. Not only has the revival of the area after years of neglect drawn thousands of visitors, it has also brought residents, with new and refurbished apartments attracting people to live in the centre of the city. Temple Bar has a medieval street pattern which innovatively combines two new public squares, Temple Bar Square a meeting point for shoppers, and Meeting House Square a film and theatre performance square which are linked together by the ultra modern Curved Street. Temple Bar is pedestrian friendly, so walk through the network of narrown cobbled streets and experience the people, the colour, the sounds and the atmosphere of Temple Bar. The following is just a selection of what you will find.
An area of great interest in that it contains Croake Park, headquarters of the Gaelic Athletic Association. At just 3 km from the City Centre the Phoneix park is the biggest and most attractive city park in Europe.
A most fashionable area of Dublin, home to Landsdowne Road with its famous rugby stadium. Many of the residences of this part of Dublin retain the facades of the Georgian period, a popular attraction of Dublin. Some of the first examples can be found in and around Fitzwilliam Square. The magnificent St. Stephen’s Green provides a refuge from the bustle of city life.
Within a short distance of the Phoenix Park, this part of Dublin is mostly residential, there are all of the facilities associated with a modern city.
A mostly residential sector of the city. Suburbs such as Rathmines and Rathgar provide much needed accommodation for the non-Dubliners who converge on the capital for work and play. This has earned the area the title ‘Flatland’ Within easy distance of the city centre it is a good base from which to see Dublin.
An area of Dublin which runs alongside the city river, the Liffey. It is a busy area of shops, restaurants and bars.
A largely residential area which is also the site of Dublin Botanical Gardens. Within a short distance of the city, since it is not as fashionable as some other areas, accommodation may be easier to find as well as cheaper. A taste of the real Dublin can be sampled here.
A coastal area of N.E. Dublin who’s principle centre is Howth. A popular area for day-trippers from Dublin and location for many exclusive dwellings.
A largely residental area. Things of interest include Roebuck Castle now used by UCD as a law department. Dundrum provides good access to Dublin City Centre and the Dublin Mountains. The area is littered with popular pubs.
Follow the riverside road to Blanchardstown and on to Mulhuddart. Turn right up church Road to visit Lady’s Well, an ancient shrine with a ruined fourteenth-century church nearby. The graveyard just beyond it has an impressive collection of elaborately inscribed eighteenth-century tombstones. Return across the river and follow Blakestown Road to the south. At the bottom turn right towards Clonsilla on the Royal Canal. the spectacular three-kilometre cutting through the limestone hill provided the waterway with one of its more hazardous stretches, so narrow that traffic could only go in one direction at a time. In November 1845 sixteen passengers were drowned here when their boat struck a rock. For a scenic route to Dublin you can head south to the Liffey and follow the Lucan Road along the north bank of the river.
An extensive area of SE Dublin. The area includes many sandy beaches and cliff walks. Killiney is home to many international stars. The area leads to South Co Dublin and is in easy reach of both Duboin city centre and the mildeness of Co. Wicklow.
Situated on a bend in the river near the South west corner of Phoenix Park is the village of Chapelizod, which traditionally takes its name from Isolde (Iseult), the beloved of Tristan and daughter of Aengus, King of Ireland. It is also the setting of Sheridan le Fanu’s story The House by the Churchyard and the birthplace of the newspaper magnate Alfred Harmsworth, later Lord Northcliffe (1865-1922).
There is lots of accommodation on offer here. It is situated on the main routes to the west of Ireland and there is easy access to the city centre. Major shopping centres are plentiful and pubs and restaurants provide the main source of entertainment.
Boats and trains were responsible for the transformation of Dun Laoghaire in the early nineteenth century from a little seaside town into a bustling centre of fashion and commerce. The great harbour built by John Rennie between 1817 and 1860 with its two massive East and West piers – 1.3km and 1.5km long respectively – became the principal terminus for mail packet services from England and Wales. It is now the arrival point for car ferries from Britain, and a major yachting centre. This busy port town was named Kingstown after George IV visited Ireland in 1821. The town enjoyed a further boost in 1834 when the Dublin-Kingston Railway opened and soon established a reputation as a fashionable residential area. The town’s old name was restored in 1922. A series of seven guided walks makes up the Dun Laoghaire Way, stretching from Blackrock through Dun Laoghaire to Dalkey, Killiney and Loughlinstown. There are also special interest trails including a literary walk and two archaeological trails. Alongside the railway is a footpath known as ‘The Metals’ which runs as far as on the route of a small funicular railway which carried stone from Dalkey quarry for the building of the harbour. From 1844 to 1854 the route was used by an Atmospheric railway which worked on a compressed air system.
Howth, 14.4km north-east of Dublin, a peninsula which forms the northern boundary of Dublin Bay. From the top of the hill of Howth, there are magnificent views of Dublin City and the Wicklow mountains. Howth Harbour on the northern side is a noted yachting centre. 1.6km off-shore is the little island called Ireland’s Eye. Farther north is Lambay Island, a noted bird sanctuary. In the town itself are the ruins of Howth Abbey, and adjoining, is the demesne of Howth Castle, justly famous for its magnificent Rhododendron walk and Public Golf Course. The Rhododendron walk is open throughout the year except Christmas Day. It also contains a massive Dolmen known as “Aideens Grave”.
The name Killiney comes from the Irish cill Inion Lenine, which means Church of the Daughters of Lenine. A tiny medieval church, dating back to the 11th century, is dedicated to the seven daughters of Lenine who are believed to have lived in the 6th century. Killiney Park features cliff and woodland walks with superb views over Dublin city and Dun Laoghaire harbour, Dalkey Bay, ofter compared to the Bay of Naples, with the Sugar Loaf and Dublin mountains in the distance.
Celebrated in Irish history as the seat of the monastery founded by St. Maelruain, Tallaght was, with Finglas, one of the “Two Eyes of Ireland” in the ninth century. Today Tallaght is the capital of the new administrative county of South Dublin. Tymon Park, through which the River Poddle meanders, has many fine water features which support large colonies of wildfowl. Extensive new woodland planting has enhanced the many lovely walks in the park. The Sean Walsh Memorial Park in Tallaght Town Centre is a landscaped parkland with many water features and active recreation areas. Tallaght is also the location of The Square, Ireland’s largest shopping centre, which includes a 12 screen multiplex cinema.
Facilities in the Loughlinstown area include a comprehensive leisure complex and a modern hospital. It is close to golf clubs, a shopping complex and is the gateway to the South East counties.
A tiny, picturesque harbour, a sweep of sand protected by low cliffs and pleasant views towards Lambar Island, are features of Loughshinny’s beauty.
Lucan was originally a small village on the banks of the River Liffey. Today, a large town has grown up around the village, which has survived. It is known for its Georgian architecture. You can take a stroll along the pleasant valley known as Strawberry Beds. Griffeen Valley Linear Park is a gentle rolling valley park complete with a gurgling stream. A fine feature of the park is the all-weather, floodlit running track.
North of Donabate is the village of Lusk. The round tower here is the only surviving relic of a monastery founded in the 6th century. Attached is a 16th century tower, and a church on the site contains a number of fine medieval tombs. Open to the public by arrangement.
The picturesque seaside town of Malahide is well worth a visit. Malahide Castle is a huge fairytale castle set in 250 acres of grounds. The castle’s core dates from the 14th century but there were many later additions to it. The Fry Model Railway is situated in the old corn store in the grounds of the castle. Started in the 1920s by Cyril Fry, a local railway engineer, the 240 sq metre exhibit contains models of Irish trains, miniatures of stations, streets and local landmarks such as the River Liffey and Howth Head. Malahide boasts many fine restaurants, lively bars and quirky shops.
Malahide is only 16km from Dublin, it is a historic village. The streets are lined with attractive small shops, giving way to terraces of graceful homes with colourful gardens. Picturesquely situated on the Malahide estuary. A scenic coastal road links Malahide with Portmarnock with its superb beach which was used as a runway for the take-off of the first East to West solo transatlantic flight by Mollison. Close to malahide Station is Malahide Castle, a lofty structure commenced in the 12th Century and subsequently added to. In the grounds of the Castle is the Fry Model Railway.
Situated about 1km from Dun Laoghaire on the main road to Dublin, Monkstown derives from the cistercian Monks who arrived in the twelfth century and built Monkstown Castle, which can still be viewed today. In the centre of the village is Monkstown church, built in a unique Moorish Gothic Style, the Church was claimed by John Betjeman as his favourite Victorian church and is well worth a visit. Arching away from the church is the very attractive Monkstown crescent, with charming Edwardian villas on one side and with Gourmet restaurants, fashion boutiques and vintage wines. For the thirsty traveller, Goggins Pub beckons. The Lambert Puppet Theatre is situated in Clifton Terrace.
Adjacent to Stillorgan, Mount Merrion features the landscape Park known as Deerpark, with its lovely walks, tennis courts and playing pitches. There are magnificent views from the park overlooking Dublin bay and Dubllin City. Access is also availableto University College Dublin from Mount Merrion. The university provides self-catering accommodation during the summer months.
Perhaps best known internationally for its championship golf course overlooking the Irish Sea, Portmarnock is also a popular seaside resort with a magnificent 5km sandy beach known as the Velvet Strand.
Always a popular watering hole for Dubliners, Portrane has a lovely beach and some glorious scenic walks sweeping round Rogerstown Estuary.
Rathcoole is a small village to the south of Dublin city. Once home to the celebrated writer Christy Brown, holder of the Nobel Prize for literature for his autobiography, My Left Foot.
Rathfarnham is a suburban village with charming shopfronts at the NW extremity of Dun Laoghaire/ Rathdown. The Castle, National Monument,dates from late 16th Century and has an interesting history, it is being restored, and guided tours may be available. Just south of the village is Saint Endas a former school founded by Patrick Pearse, and now a museum. Attractions include exhibitions, an audio visual show, tea rooms, walks and a nature trail in the surrounding park, and outdoor concerts during summer. Near Saint Endas are Marlay House and Park 214 acres of woodland parkland with water features which are home to wild fowl, and a sculpture trail. A craft centre is located in the courtyard adjacent to the House, with 16 craft industries operating.
Rush is a seaside resort and market gardening centre in North Dublin. Fine beaches north and south of the harbour have attracted generations of Dubliners. Lambay Island, offshore, is a noted bird sanctuary.
Saggart is a South Dublin village, located at the foothills of the Dublin mountains.
This seaside suburb is located around a pleasant harbour and has a famous Martello Tower where the writer James Joyce once stayed for a week as a guest of poet Oliver St John Gogarty. It is also the birthplace of Irish patriot Sir Roger Casement (1864-1916).
Shankill, a suburban village with a rural aspect is located in the coast in South-East County Dublin 2km from the County Wicklow border and only 9km from Dun Laoghaire ferryport. The village has recently undergone total refurbishment and is well served by attractive shopping facilities, pubs restaurants, schools, churches and a library. Activities such as walking, golfing , fishing, horse-riding, tennis and bowling are catered for in the area and Shankill has the only registered Caravan and Camping sitein South East County Dublin. Nearby are the remains of Ballycorus leadmines with its prominent chimney and Carrickgollen Hill offering panoramic views of the area. Shankill also has a number of high quality guest houses including Farmhouse accommodation.
Skerries is a small coastal village with a largely stoney shoreline and several small flat-topped island offshore. It is easily visited by car, train or bus. The harbour lies north of Rush and is reached by turning right off the main Dublin-Belfast road about 5km north of Swords. Follow the signposts through Lusk to Skerries.
Stillorgan is in the suburbs of Dublin with a variety of facilities and amenities. These include a cinema complex, internationally renowned bowling arena, Glenalbyn indoor Swimming Pool, a large and attractive Shopping centre and a range of restaurantsand bars to suit everyone’s taste and budget. Glenbabyn, an area of Stillorgan is the base for Kilmacud Crokes Gaelic with an indoor swimming pool which is open to the public, the 46A bus is the most frequent bus service within Dun Laoghaire Rathdown, and it passes through Stillorgan, connecting Dun Laoghaire to Dublin city. Locally you will find Dublin oldest Restaurant Beaufield mews which is set in a coach house and stable buildings. It is well known for its quality of food and service.
The sea around the Howth peninsula has shaped a lovely beach at Sutton. The picturesque harbour in Howth and walks around the head are popular attractions in the area.
The busy village of Swords lies west of Malahide. Legend has it that Swords was founded at a well blessed by St. Colmcille. The ancient ruins of a Round Tower can be found in the grounds of the Church of Ireland.
Home to one of Dublin’s championship golf courses, The Ward is located north of Dublin city.