To the south of the Slievemine mountains lies the hamlet of Annacarty, the Multeen River passes through the area.
Ardfinnan is beautifully located on the River Suir amid the three mountain ranges, Galty’s, Comeragh and Knockmealdown mountains.
Just a short distance from Thurles is Ballycahill, within the area are Ballinahow Castle and Thurles Race Course.
Ballyporeen is the town in which the great grandfather of US President Ronald Reagan was baptised. Michael Reagan was baptised in the cruciform church on September 3, 1829. Templetenny Cemetery is the burial place of the Reagan’s, and is worth a visit.
Bansha on the N74, between Tipperary Town and Cahir, is the gateway to the famed Glen of Aherlow. The area is rich in heritage and historical landmarks. Saint Pecauns and Berreihert’s Lyle are among the most famous Holy Wells in the area. Darby Ryan – The poet of Aherlow – is a native of Bansha and is buried in the old graveyard. Bansha and is buried in the old graveyard. Bansha was home to Sir William Butler, founder of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police who is buried at nearby Killaldriffe Cemetery. Activities in Bansha include angling, horse riding, walking, patentee and what better way to explore the scenic glen of Aherlow than by bicycle. Bansha, adjacent to the Glen of Aherlow has an excellent standard of accommodation, both B&B and Self-Catering.
A pretty village located on the eastern shores of the River Shannon as it leaves Lough Derg.
Borrisokane is among the largest of a number of villages that dot the landscape around Lough Derg.
Located to the east of the Silvermine Mountain range is Borrisoleigh. There are a number of rivers nearby including the Nenagh which offers fishing.
Cahir Castle, an imposing centre river structure, largely 15th century, was the state-of-the-art defensive castle of its day. Fully restored, it offers a guide service and a splendid audio visual presentation. Limited access for persons with disability. Also close to Cahir town is the Swiss Cottage, a superb example of an early 19th century “cottage orne”. It is picturesquely situated on an elevated site with access by stone steps. Built by Richard Lord Cahir in 1812, it was designed by John Nash, well known Regency Architect who designed Brighton Pavilion, Regent Street, London and Saint Paul’s Cathedral in Cahir. (Cahir – meaning The Stone Fort of the Dun of the Fish).
Located to the south of the Silvermine Mountain range is Cappawhite, the Multeen river passes close by.
Carrick On Suir
Carrick On Suir’s most famous person is undoubtably Sean Kelly, following his victory in the Tour de France in the early 1980’s. The town itself is half in Waterford, half in Tipperary. Tanneries and textiles are Carricks biggest industries along with the dairy industry. The historic buildings in the town include the Town Clock (1784), two Catholic churches (1822 and 1827), and “the best example in the country of an Elizabethan mansion” (Harbison) which has portraits of the first Queen Elizabeth and its builder – her cousin – ‘Black Tom’ Butler, the 10th Earl of Ormond – Ormond Castle.
Cashel was once seat of the Kings of Munster and capital of this southern province. The Rock, which rears above the plain, dominated the land routes southward. Kings of Ireland as well as Munster came to this spot and St Patrick is said to have preched here. King Cormac built his superb Royal Chapel in the 12th century and it is now one of the remarkable buildings to be seen on the Rock. Nearby were Cistercian, Dominican and Franciscan abbeys, two of which may still be viewed. A visit to Cashel must include the town to experience and understand the historical reationship between the Rock and the town. Cashel City Hall will be your first port of call wherein you can turn the key to the rich heritage in Cashel such as the archaeology, fine architecture, fascinating history and folklore of this remarkable town. The Heritage Centre, located on Main Street, Cashel, will provide the visitor with a series of changing exhibitions, and a model of Cashel in 1640’s. A unique collection from the house of the MacCarthy Mor is a rare gem in this centre and a must to see. A map of the area is available: Click here
Clogheen has an attractive complex of sandstone, brick-trimmed buildings: the convent of the Sisters of Mercy, and St. Teresa’s. Go left through this pleasant village. The Catholic church has inside the gate an octagonal stone font with two sections. The Celtic cross was erected in the grounds in 1870 in memory of Fr. Nicholas Sheehy, one of the five people hanged in Clonmel in 1776 on perjured evidence for an alleged murder. The shaft, in the mode of the early Christian high crosses, bears a wide range of religious cum nationalist themes including the Good Samaritan, and Daniel O’ Connell with the Catholic Emancipation Act. St. Patrick is shown baptising King Aengus at Cashel and accidentally piercing his foot with the crozier – the King never flinched, presuming it was part of the ceremony.
Clonmel is set in fertile land and superb scenic surroundings along the north bank of the river Suir. Clonmel, one of the largest inland towns of Ireland is the administrative capital of the South Riding of Tipperary, the centre of the cider industry andan important horse breeding and greyhound area. There is golf, horse-racing, greyhound racing, pony trekking, trout fishing on the river Suir, Nire, Tay and Anner as well as tennis, swimming and cinemas. The County Museum in Parnell Street, in addition to a collection of over 10,000 items, has a permanent art display.
Located close to the River Shannon and Lough Derg, Cloughjordan is home to Charlie Swan’s Equestrian Centre. Charlie Swan is a multiple National Hunt Champion jockey. The centre offers daily lessons, cross-country riding and show jumping.
Dromineer, 8km from the bustling market town of Nenagh, is located on the widest part of Lough Derg (16km across). Since Viking times and before, the Shannon has provided an artery for transport through the heart of Ireland,. It is not surprising, therefore, that the Normans built a castle here – the imposing ruin of which still dominates the village. Later, before the railway came to Nenagh, Dromineer became a busy port from which barges carried agricultural produce to Dublin via the middle Shannon and the Grand Canal, and returned with products – like Guinness!
Head for Dundrum past the barrack ruin, go left at the next cross-roads, and straight at the following one, which is called Maudemount cross-roads. The Maude legacy dominates this area; the family’s title, Hawarden, is tagged to a bridge nearby. They ensured a station of the Great Southern and Western Railway, the very fine Tudor-style R.I.C. barracks nearby which has become the Garda Siochana (police) barracks, and were patrons of St. Mary’s church. This was O’ Dwyer territory before the Cromwellian confiscation; Dundrum is a good base for savouring their old barony of Kilnamanagh including exceptional beauty spots at Glencarberry and Piperhill. The Annacarty-Dundrum area has two series of marshes/fens with rich flora and fauna.
Emly lies on the border with County Limerick. To the south of the town is Dunfryleague Megalithic tomb.
Fiodh Ard – ‘the high wood’ – and part of that same wood is still to be seen in all its glory to the south east of the town. Fethard is like that. Things that were once common everywhere, but which are now gone, can still be seen in Fethard, such as a horse in Main Street, a sheep grazing by the old town walls, or osiers being cut by the riverside for basket making. And if you linger awhile you will also see the many special sights that make Fethard a rather unique place indeed. There’s its seiting, astride the Clashawley (or Clash Alainn, the lovely river), between rolling countryside to the east and south and the great plains to the west and north. Man has surrounded the town with great walled and wooded estates, and railed stud farms – home to some of the finest bloodstock to be found world wide. Overlooking all is Sliabh na mBan – holy mountain to all Tipperary people, its 2,368 feet await and welcome strollers, and you can rest on Sui Fionn Fionn’s seat, on the summit.
Golden is a small village located on the River Suir. Cashel is a short distance away from the town and Athassel Abbey is one of the hostoric monuments in the area.
Holycross is 6 kilometres downstream from Thurles. The restoration of the Cistercian Abbey as a Parish church was completed in 1975.
Kilcash is located in foothills of Slievenamon Mountain in a wooded area of County Tipperary.
Strangely there are two identically named towns within County Tipperary, this, the more northerly of the two is in the foothills of the Slieverdagh Hills.
Inland from Lough Derg is Lorrha, it has many ruins dating from the early Christian period.
A village situated about two miles west of Clonmel. The name originally derives from ‘Marl’ – a variety of limestone used in times past for brick making. There are a number of historical and natural areas of note in the locality.
Monard is located next to Limerick Junction train station where the trains for the south of Ireland diverge. Tipperary racecourse is nearby, there is also a golf course locally.
Mullinahone is in County Tipperary and is best known for its association with the patriot, novelist and poet Charles Kickham. Charles Kickham became an enthusiastic Young Irelander and was sentenced to fourteen years imprisonment in 1865 for his connection with the Fenian movement. He was released from prison in poor health after four years and he died in Dublin in 1882. A poet and writer of great renown his best know work was Knocknagow, a sweeping novel based on rural life in his native district. The house where Kickham lived in Fethard Street is marked by a plaque and a Celtic Cross marks his grave in Mullinahome churchyard. Some distance from the village is Kickhams Tree with Kickhams Chair under it where he sat while writing Knocknagow.
Nenagh was a Norman settlement, which became a 19th century garrison town and the capital of the new North Riding. Nenagh Castle, built in the early 13th century by Norman Thoebald Fitzwalter, with its 1860’s crown is a major feature of the town. Also, there are two 19th century gothic style churches, and the ruins of a Franciscan Friary. Another attraction of the town is the Heritage Centre. This is across the road from the Castle, and has the facade of the County Gaol, gatehouse and the Governor’s House. The exhibition focuses on the lifestyles of the people of the area through the years
Newcastle is a lively seaside resort situated approximately 48 km south of Belfast and 139 km north of Dublin. The town is set within a stunning natural environment with the Irish Sea on one side and the magnificent Mourne Mountains on the other. Newcastle is located within the Mourne Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with a stunningly beautiful coastline. The surrounding area is blessed with forests, lakes and rivers and a host of historical features. There is a variety of accommodation available together with a large number of eating places and public houses in close proximity. Newcastle is home to the world famous Royal County Down Golf Club – very popular links course. The area is popular for crafts.
Newport lies in a beautiful area of North Tipperary between the River Shannon and the Silvermine Mountains.
Spectacularly located in the Glen of Aherlow is Newtown. The Ballyhoura Walk passes by the village. Gortavoher Wood is in the vicinity and there are scenic lookout points and picnic areas.
The village of Portroe has a commanding view of the countryside, and another pleasant church in cream gritstone. A simple headstone in the churchyard commemorates a Tipperary hurler-author of the landmark 1926 U.S.A. tour, Tommy Kenny, and his son Sean (1930-1973), who crossed the Atlantic with three others in an open Ketch, Ituna, studied with Frank Lloyd Wright at Arizona and became a celebrated designer for the London stage. The signpost indicates a German-owned tube factory originally built up by J.B. O’ Driscoll, who in 1923 revitalised the slate quarries which were first worked in the late 1700s and once employed 400 men. The new era lasted until 1956; the now ghostly workings supplied ‘Kilaloe’ slates to a vast number of public and private buildings in Ireland, Scotland and Holland. Since 1991 slates are again being manufactured in this area.
A little inland from Lough Derg is Pauckaun a little village that merits a visit due to its cottages, crafts and music.
A one hundred yard stroll down Roscrea’s main street takes in 600 years of the finest of Irish architecture. There is the Romanesque facade of Saint Cronan’s church, with an old Irish round tower and a high cross to match, followed by the recently restored Norman castle, original date circa 1280. Close by is the 18th century Damer House, mansion and home of the town’s heritage centre.
Just east of the Silvermine Mountains is Templederry, a village located between Nenagh to the north and Borrisoleigh to the south.
Templemore lies on the plain beneath the western slopes of Devils Bit Mountain. In the 70 acre town park are the remains of Templemore Abbey and Castle, also in the park are a large lake and swimming pool. There is good fishing for brown trout on the upper reaches of the River Suir near the town, and the lake in the town park holds pike, roach, perch, and tench. The North Tipperary Foxhounds hunt the district. Nine-hole golf course. Ireland’s Gardai are trained here in what was the old British army barracks now completely refurbished as a modern Garda training college.
Terryglass has been a National Tidy Towns winner. The monastery of Terryglass no longer exists but during the 9th/10th century it lead the revival in Irish learning and literature, thanks to which we have most of our knowledge about Ireland’s distant and pagan past. The Old Court Castle is situated on elevated ground near the lake. It was built by either a de Burgo or a Butler, and is a legacy of Norman colonisation. There is pedestrian access only to the castle.
Thurles is built on the river Suir, and owes its development to the Norman Butlers. There are remains of two of their fortresses- a 15th century tower house and the one time home of Lady Thurles, mother of James Butler, first Duke of Ormond. The main reason that Thurles is famous on Ireland is the fact that the Gaelic Athletic Association was founded here in 1884. There is a statue to Archbishop Croke – the Association’s first patron. Semple Stadium held the centenary’s All Ireland Final, and is named in the memory of Tom Semple who captained the Tipperary teams to All Ireland victory in 1906 and 1908.
Arguably Ireland’s best known town, close to the romantic and scenic Glen of Aherlow, Tipperary town offers the authentic feel of a 19th century market town, while the Hills Area, on the left of the limerick road, bear witness to the great antiquity of this ever interesting ancient settlement. Of special interest are its vibrant coloured shop-fronts and the intricte tracery of its streets and public areas. It shares with the other HeritageTowns of the South East, a deep sense of civic pride throughout the commmunity. Experience and enjoy the communities collective determination to present a welcoming, warm and hospitable destination to all visitors.